Hi, my name is Karl Gookey. I was born on the 16th of April 1989 in Harlow, making me 20 as of this moment in time. I’m currently residing in the small town of Ongar in the United Kingdom. I’m currently in a relationship with my girlfriend, Heather, who is 2 ⅓ years younger than me. My loves are gaming, music, graphic design and general geekery. Not in any particular order.

Gaming

I’ve been very into gaming ever since playing and completing Sonic on the Sega MegaDrive (Sega Genesis in North America) as a toddler. Since then I took the natural console progression, consisting of;

  • Nintendo 64
  • Playstation
  • Playstation 2
  • Xbox
  • Xbox 360

Of course I started playing PC games somewhere around the Playstation 2 era and got pretty hooked on games like AvP 2, Command & Conquer Renegade and the like. A good few years ago, I burnt my hand pretty bad and it needed to be bandaged for around 2 months. Also around this time, I had caught the eBay bug and had been buying useless items on there like nobody’s business. It wasn’t long before I found a copy of EVE Online (the original boxed copy, not the snazzy new one) and bought that $#!+ up! The month or two of having my hand bandaged allowed me to put almost all of my free time into EVE and pretty soon, I was hooked!

Graphic Design

I first became interested in design back in 2000. I came across a graphic design website and immediately got hooked. I was lucky enough to be given a copy of Photoshop by a family member and I couldn’t stop from then on. Since then I’ve gotten a ICT (computing) qualification (British National Diploma) and am currently studying for a British National Diploma in Graphic Design.
Aside from studying Graphic Design, I’m currently trying to put together a graphic design portfolio so as to showcase my previous work and hopefully get some paying work in the near future. For now, I have a small portfolio at deviantART which will act as a temporary home for my portfolio until I get the money to create and host a dedicated personal portfolio website.

freelance-light